November Congratulations

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 12:46 PM | Karen Krossing


Congratulations to the following CANSCAIP members who are award winners and nominees:

2013 Forest of Reading® Nominees

The Ontario Library Association has announced the nominees for the 2013 Forest of Reading® Program.

Blue Spruce™ Nominees (Grades K - 2)

  • JoJo the Giant, written by Jane Barclay, illustrated by Esperança Melo, Tundra Books
  • Kate & Pippin: An Unlikely Love Story, written by Martin Springett, photos by Isobel Springett, Penguin Group (Canada)
  • Larf, written and illustrated by Ashley Spires, Kids Can Press
  • Splinters, written and illustrated by Kevin Sylvester, Tundra Books

Silver Birch® Nominees (Grades 3 - 6)


  • Dragon Seer’s Gift, written by Janet McNaughton, HarperCollins Publishers
  • The Grave Robber’s Apprentice, written by Allan Stratton, HarperCollins Publishers
  • Making Bombs For Hitler, written by Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch, Scholastic Canada
  • Missing, written by Becky Citra, Orca Book Publishers
  • Neil Flambé and the Crusader’s Curse, written by Kevin Sylvester, Simon & Schuster


  • Explorers Who Made it ... or died trying, written by Frieda Wishinsky, illustrated by Bill Dickson, Scholastic Canada
  • No Shelter Here: Making the World a Kinder Place for Dogs, written by Rob Laidlaw, Pajama Press
  • Shannen and the Dream for a School, written by Janet Wilson, Second Story Press
  • To Hope and Back: The Journey of the St. Louis, written by Kathy Kacer, Second Story Press


  • In The Bag! Margaret Knight Wraps It Up, written by Monica Kulling, illustrated by David Parkins, Tundra Books
  • I Owe You One, written by Natalie Hyde, Orca Book Publishers
  • Matatu, written by Eric Walters, illustrated by Eva Campbell, Orca Book Publishers
  • The Paper House, written by Lois Peterson, Orca Book Publishers
  • Who Needs a Swamp?, written and illustrated by Karen Patkau, Tundra Books

Red Maple™ Nominees (Grades 7 - 8)


  • crush. candy. corpse., written by Sylvia McNicoll, James Lorimer & Company
  • The Dragon Turn, written by Shane Peacock, Tundra Books
  • End of Days, written by Eric Walters, Doubleday Canada
  • First Descent, written by Pam Withers, Tundra Books
  • Testify, written by Valerie Sherrard, Dundurn Press
  • This Dark Endeavour, written by Kenneth Oppel, HarperCollins Publishers
  • The Tiffin, written by Mahtab Narsimhan, Dancing Cat Books


  • Last Airlift: A Vietnamese Orphan’s Rescue from War, written by Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch, Pajama Press
  • Lizards in the Sky: Animals Where You Least Expect Them, written by Claire Eamer, Annick Press
  • The Lowdown On Denim, written by Tanya Lloyd Kyi, illustrated by Clayton Hanmer, Annick Press
  • Real Justice: Fourteen And Sentenced To Death - The Story of Steven Truscott, written by Bill Swan, James Lorimer & Company
  • The Secret Life of Money: A Kid’s Guide To Cash, written by Kira Vermond, illustrated by Clayton Hanmer, Owlkids Books Inc.

White Pine™ Nominees (Grades 9 - 12)

  • All Good Children, written by Catherine Austen, Orca Book Publishers
  • Karma, written by Cathy Ostlere, Puffin Canada
  • The Taming, written by Eric Walters and Teresa Toten, Doubleday Canada
  • Witchlanders, written by Lena Coakley, Atheneum Books

The OLA also offers two adult reading categories: Evergreen™ and Golden Oak™. The Golden Oak program provides new readers in adult literacy programs to read books chosen specifically for them. The nominees in this category are:

  • Behind Enemy Lines, written by Carol Matas, Scholastic Canada
  • Remembering The Titanic, written by Frieda Wishinsky, Scholastic Inc.
  • In The Bag! Margaret Knight Wraps It Up, written by Monica Kulling, illustrated by David Parkins, Tundra Books
  • Matatu, written by Eric Walters, illustrated by Eva Campbell, Orca Book Publishers
  • No Ordinary Day, written by Deborah Ellis, Groundwood Books

Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

Sarah Ellis has been nominated for the The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA), the world's largest award for children's and young adult literature. Sarah was chosen as one of 207 candidates from 67 countries. This award is named for Astrid Lindgren, one of Sweden’s most important authors. The recipient or recipients of the 2013 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award will be announced on 26 March 2013 at 1 pm. 

Jacqueline Guest awarded the prestigious Indspire Award for the Arts

Jacqueline Guest is the recipient of the prestigious Indspire Award for the Arts, which recognizes Indigenous professionals and youth who demonstrate outstanding career achievement. Created in 1993 in conjunction with the UN's International Decade of the World’s Indigenous Peoples, the Indspire Awards represent the highest honour the Indigenous community bestows upon its own achievers.

Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Picture Book Award

IBBY Canada announces the winner of the Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Picture Book Award: A Few Blocks by Cybèle Young, published by Groundwood Books.

2012 Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature

Paul Yee is the winner of the 2012 Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature. Yee has contributed uniquely and powerfully to our literary landscape over a writing career that spans almost 30 years. He was virtually the first children’s author to document the Chinese Canadian experience from its early days to the present.

2012 Matt Cohen Award

Jean Little is the winner of the 2012 Matt Cohen Award. Established by a group of anonymous donors, the Matt Cohen Award recognizes a lifetime of distinguished work by a Canadian writer, working in either poetry or prose in either French or English. Jean Little is recognized throughout North America for her candid and unsentimental portrayals of adolescent life.

Governor General’s Award for Children’s Literature

The Governor General’s Award for Children’s Literature Text goes to The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen, by Susin Nielsen, Tundra Books.