February Congratulations

Wednesday, February 13, 2013 2:27 PM | Karen Krossing


Congratulations to the following CANSCAIP members who are award winners and nominees:

Canadians Honoured at ALA Midwinter Meeting

In January, the American Library Association (ALA) announced the 2013 award-winning books. Canadian young-adult author Beverley Brenna’s latest novel, The White Bicycle (Red Deer Press), is an Honour book for the Michael L. Printz Award, given each year to the best book written for young adults. Author Rachel Hartman took home the William C. Morris Award for her debut YA fantasy novel, Seraphina (Doubleday). The William C. Morris Award honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens.

YALSA presents the Best Fiction for Young Adults at ALA’s Midwinter Meeting

Each year, the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) presents the Best Fiction for Young Adults list. The books, recommended for ages 12-18, meet the criteria of both good quality literature and appealing reading for teens. In addition to the full list, the Best Fiction for Young Adults committee also created a Top Ten list of titles from the final list, denoted here by an asterisk. Titles by CANSCAIP members include:

  • Seraphina*, written by Rachel Hartman, Doubleday
  • The Book of Life by Angel, written by Martine Leavitt, Groundwood Books
  • Such Wicked Intent: The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein Book Two, written by Kenneth Oppel, HarperCollins

USBBY Outstanding International Books

USBBY, the US national section for the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY), has selected its annual list of Outstanding International Books for children and young adults. All books on the list were published in 2012 and chosen by a committee of USBBY members. Titles by CANSCAIP members include:

  • Kids of Kabul: Living Bravely Through a Never-Ending War, written by Deborah Ellis, Groundwood Books
  • My Name is Parvana, written by Deborah Ellis, Groundwood Books
  • The Stamp Collector, written by Jennifer Lanthier, illustrated by François Thisdale, Fitzhenry & Whiteside

OLA 2012 Best Bets

Each year the OLA Best Bets Committee selects the top Canadian picture books, fiction and non-fiction for children, and fiction for teens. Books are selected on the basis of their literary merit as well as their appeal to the intended audience. Titles by CANSCAIP members include:

Picture Books

  • JoJo the Giant, written by Jane Barclay, illustrated by Esperança Melo, Tundra Books
  • The Stamp Collector, written by Jennifer Lanthier, illustrated by François Thisdale, Fitzhenry & Whiteside
  • Wishes, written by Jean Little, illustrated by Geneviève Côté, North Winds Press
  • Larf, written and illustrated by Ashley Spires, Kids Can Press
  • Dear Flyary, written by Dianne Young, illustrated by John Martz, Kids Can Press

Honourable Mentions

  • A Hen for Izzy Pippik, written by Aubrey Davis, illustrated by Marie Lafrance, Kids Can Press

Middle Grade Fiction

  • Middle of Nowhere, written by Caroline Adderson, Groundwood Books
  • Yesterday’s Dead, written by Pat Bourke, Second Story Press
  • Ungifted, written by Gordon Korman, Scholastic Canada
  • The Paper House, written by Lois Peterson, Orca Book Publishers
  • Making Bombs for Hitler, written by Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch, Scholastic Canada
  • The Grave Robber’s Apprentice, written by Allan Stratton,  HarperCollins Canada

Honourable Mentions

  • Hold the Pickles, written by Vicki Grant, Orca Book Publishers

Young Adult Fiction

  • Running on Empty, written by Don Aker, HarperCollins Canada
  • Redwing, written by Holly Bennett, Orca Book Publishers
  • Shade & Sorceress, written by Catherine Egan, Coteau Books
  • Seraphina, written by Rachel Hartman, Doubleday Canada
  • Crush. Candy. Corpse, written by Sylvia McNicoll, James Lorimer & Company
  • The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen, written by Susin Nielsen, Tundra Books

Honourable Mentions

  • How to Tend a Grave, written by Jocelyn Shipley, Great Plains Teen Fiction
  • Such Wicked Intent, written by Kenneth Oppel, HarperCollins Canada

Notable Non Fiction

  • Bodyguards: From Gladiators to the Secret Service, written by Ed Butts, illustrated by Scott Plumbe, Annick Press


  • Hey Canada!, written by Vivien Bowers, illustrated by Milan Pavlovic, Tundra Books
  • The World in Your Lunch Box: The Wacky History and Weird Science of Everyday Foods, written by Claire Eamer, illustrated by Sa Boothroyd,  Annick Press
  • A Good Trade, written by Alma Fullerton, illustrated by Karen Patkau, Pajama Press
  • Cryptic Canada: Unsolved Mysteries from Coast to Coast, written by Natalie Hyde, illustrated by Matt Hammill, Owlkids Books Inc.
  • Hockey Science: 25 Winning Experiments, written by Shar Levine and Leslie Johnstone, illustrated by Lorenzo Del Bianco, Scholastic Canada
  • The Secret of the Village Fool, written by Rebecca Upjohn, illustrated by Renné Benoit, Second Story Press

Sydney Taylor Book Award

The Sydney Taylor Book Award honors new books for children and teens that exemplify the highest literary standards while authentically portraying the Jewish experience. The award memorializes Sydney Taylor, author of the classic All-of-a-Kind Family series and is presented annually by the Association of Jewish Libraries in the United States. Titles by CANSCAIP members include:

Notable Books for Younger Readers

  • A Song for My Sister by Lesley Simpson with illustrations by Tatjana Mai-Wyss, Random House

Notable Books for Teens

  • Rachel’s Secret by Shelly Sanders, Second Story
  • The Last Song by Eva Wiseman, Tundra Books

Sunday Times EFG Private Bank Short Story Award

Canadian novelist and short-story writer Caroline Adderson has been long-listed for the world’s richest short-story prize, the £30,000 ($47,000) Sunday Times EFG Private Bank Short Story Award. There are 16 stories nominated, and the eligibility criterion for the prize is that the author must have been published, either in book or magazine form, in the United Kingdom or Ireland. The story that Adderson submitted, called Erection Man, has not been published. The short list, of six, will be announced in a month – each of these finalists will win £1,000 ($1,600). The winner will be announced in Oxford on March 22.

Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals

A new commemorative medal was created in 2012 to mark the celebrations of the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne as Queen of Canada. The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal serves to honour significant contributions and achievements by Canadians. Barbara Reid and Jean Little accepted Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals in early February.