June Congratulations

Tuesday, June 11, 2013 7:53 PM | Karen Krossing


Congratulations to the following CANSCAIP members who are award winners and nominees:

2013 Forest of Reading Award Winners

The winners of the 2013 Forest of Reading Awards were announced in May. Titles by CANSCAIPers include:

Blue Spruce™ Award Winner

  • Kate and Pippin, Martin Springett and Isobel Springett, Puffin Canada

Honour Book

  • Splinters, Kevin Sylvester, Tundra Books

2013 Silver Birch® Fiction Award Winner

  • Making Bombs for Hitler, Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch, Scholastic Canada

Honour Book

  • Missing, Becky Citra, Orca Book Publishers

2013 Silver Birch® Non-Fiction Award Winner

  • No Shelter Here: Making the World a Kinder Place for Dogs, Rob Laidlaw, Pajama Press

2013 Red Maple™ Fiction Award Winner

Honour Book

  • This Dark Endeavour, Kenneth Oppel, HarperCollins Canada

2013 Red Maple™ Non-Fiction Award Winner

  • Real Justice: Fourteen and Sentenced to Death, Bill Swan,  James Lorimer

Honour Book

  • Last Airlift: A Vietnamese Orphan’s Rescue from War, Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch Pajama Press

2013 White Pine™ Award Honour Books

  • Witchlanders, Lena Coakley, Simon & Schuster
    All Good Children, Catherine Austen, Orca Book Publishers

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature
The Writers’ Guild of Alberta and the Book Publishers Association of Alberta announced the winner of the R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature, supported in memory of CANSCAIPer Mary Woodbury. The winner is The Discovery of Longitude, written by Joan Marie Galat and illustrated by Wes Lowe, Pelican Publishing Company.

Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards

The 2013 winners for the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards were announced. Winner of the Children’s Picture Book Award Category is A Hen for Izzy Pippik, written by Aubrey Davis, illustrations by Marie Lafrance, Kids Can Press. Winner of the Young Adult / Middle Reader Award Category is The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen by Susin Nielsen, Tundra Books.

IBBY Canada’s Joanne Fitzgerald Illustrator in Residence Program

IBBY Canada is pleased to announce that CANSCAIPer Martha Newbigging has been selected for the inaugural Joanne Fitzgerald Illustrator in Residence Program. Martha Newbigging’s residency will take place during the month of October 2013 at the Northern District Branch of the Toronto Public Library. The Joanne Fitzgerald Illustrator in Residence Program offers published children’s book illustrators the opportunity to participate in a one month residency in a public library. The program honours Joanne Fitzgerald (1956–2011), who illustrated many influential Canadian children’s books.

2013 Arthur Ellis Award

The winners of the 2013 Arthur Ellis Awards have been announced. Shane Peacock takes home the prize for best juvenile/YA crime book for his novel, Becoming Holmes (Tundra), the sixth and final installment in The Boy Sherlock Holmes series.

2013 CBA Libris Awards

The winners of the 2013 CBA Libris Award recognize the extraordinary professionals who deliver great books to Canadian readers. Children’s bookstore Mabel’s Fables took home the honour for specialty bookseller. The winner in the young reader category was Such Wicked Intent written by Kenneth Oppel, published by HarperCollins Publishers.