June Congratulations

Wednesday, June 13, 2012 2:36 PM | Karen Krossing

Congratulations to the following CANSCAIP members who are award winners and nominees:

Lillian Shepherd Memorial Award for Excellence in Illustration

At the Atlantic Book Awards held in May in St. John’s, Newfoundland, the winner of the Lillian Shepherd Memorial Award for Excellence in Illustration was announced as There Were Monkeys in My Kitchen, illustrated by Sydney Smith, written by Sheree Fitch (Nimbus Publishing).

2012 South Asia Book Awards

The South Asia Book Award, administered by the South Asia National Outreach Consortium, is given annually for up to two outstanding works of literature and up to five Honor Books and Highly Commended Books, from early childhood to secondary reading levels, which accurately and skillfully portrays South Asia or South Asians. Titles by CANSCAIPers include:

Honor Book: No Ordinary Day by Deborah Ellis, Groundwood Books

Highly Commended Book: Karma by Cathy Ostlere, Razorbill

IODE Violet Downey Book Award

Janet McNaughton, author of The Dragon Seer’s Gift, published by HarperCollins Canada, wins the IODE Violet Downey Book Award for the second time. The prize was announced at the National Annual Meeting of IODE Canada in May.

2012 Chocolate Lily Awards

The winners of the 2012 Chocolate Lily Awards were announced in May. The Chocolate Lily Awards began with a desire to encourage BC grade school children to read books by authors and illustrators living in British Columbia. After seven years, Chocolate Lily has grown into a nationally recognized book awards program. Titles by CANSCAIPers include:

Picture Book: Stanley’s Little Sister, written by Linda Bailey, illustrated by Bill Slavin, Kids Can Press

Novel: Follow the Elephant, written by Beryl Young, Ronsdale Press

2012-2013 Chocolate Lily Nominations

Congratulations to the publishers, authors, and illustrators for their 2012-2013 Chocolate Lily nominations. Titles by CANSCAIPers include:

2012-2013 Chapter Book Nominees (Grade 3 – Grade 5)

  • Ghosts of the Titanic by Julie Lawson, Scholastic
  • That Fatal Night by Sarah Ellis, Scholastic
  • The Runaway by Glen Huser, Fitzhenry & Whiteside
  • Run Marco Run by Norma Charles, Ronsdale Press
  • The Whole Truth by Kit Pearson, HarperCollins
  • Ice Storm by Penny Draper, Coteau Books

2012- 2012 Picture Book Nominees

  • Pussycat, Pussycat Where have you Been by Dan Bar-el, Simply Read Books
  • Seal Song by Andrea Spalding, Orca Books
  • Grandpa’s Girls by Nicola I. Campbell, Groundwood

First Nation Communities Read program

The winner of this year’s First Nation Communities Read program is Janet Wilson’s Shannen and the Dream for a School (Second Story Press), about the fight to get a new school for the Northern Ontario community of Attawapiskat.

2012 Arthur Ellis Award

The Crime Writers of Canada have announced the winners for the 2012 Arthur Ellis Awards. The winner for Best Juvenile or YA Crime Book is Blink and Caution, written by Tim Wynne-Jones, Candlewick Press.

2012 CBA Libris Awards

The Canadian Booksellers Association has revealed the winners of this year’s Libris Awards, which recognize literary achievement as voted on by independent booksellers. Titles by CANSCAIPers include:

Young Reader: This Dark Endeavour by Kenneth Oppel (HarperCollins Canada)
Picture Book: Picture a Tree by Barbara Reid (Scholastic Canada)

Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards

The 2012 winners of the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards were revealed in May at Parkdale Junior and Senior Public School. The winner in the Young Adult / Middle Reader Award Category is The Whole Truth, by Kit Pearson, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.

Red Cedar Book Awards

The winners of the 2011/2012 Red Cedar Book Awards include Fiction Award Winner After the Fire by Becky Citra, Orca Books. Nominees for next year’s Red Cedar Award were also announced. Titles by CANSCAIPers include:

2012/2013 Fiction Nominees

  • Ice Storm by Penny Draper, Coteau Books
  • Racing Home by Adele Dueck, Coteau Books
  • That Boy Red  by Rachna Gilmore, HarperCollins
  • To Stand on My Own: the Polio Epidemic Diary of Noreen Robertson by Barbara Haworth-Attard, Scholastic
  • Saving Arm Pit by Natalie Hyde, Fitzhenry & Whiteside
  • Exiles From the War: The War Guest Diary of Charlotte Mary Twiss by Jean Little, Scholastic
  • The Listening Tree by Celia Barker Lottridge, Fitzhenry & Whiteside
  • Dragon Seer’s Gift by Janet McNaughton, HarperCollins
  • Nutz! by Virginia Frances Schwartz, illustrated by Christina Leist, Tradewind Books
  • Catboy by Eric Walters, Orca Books

2012-2013 Information Nominees

  • Last Airlift: A Vietnamese Orphan’s Rescue From War by Marsha Forchuck Skrypuch, Pajama Press
  • Off to Class: Incredible and Unusual Schools Around the World by Susan Hughes, Owlkids
  • Highway of Heroes by Kathy Stinson, Fitzhenry & Whiteside
  • Shannen and the Dream for a School by Janet Wilson, Second Story
  • Our Earth: How Kids are Saving the Planet by Janet Wilson, Second Story
  • Explorers Who Made It ... Or Died Trying by Frieda Wishinsky, Scholastic

2012 Alberta Literary Awards

At the 2012 Alberta Literary Awards, the R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature was announced. The winner is Karma by Cathy Ostlere, Puffin Canada.