Log in

Event Details

  • Home
  • Winners and finalists of 2019 Writing for Children Competition

Winners and finalists of 2019 Writing for Children Competition

  • Tuesday, December 31, 2019

CANSCAIP is pleased to announce the winners and finalists of the 2019 Writing for Children Competition. Each of the winners receives $500. These entries will be sent to children's publishers Annick Press, Kids Can Press and Scholastic Canada for evaluation and consideration. 

PICTURE BOOK                 

  • WINNER    Tina Hahn  - Too Small?                           
  • FINALIST    Jane Blondie - The Tail of Hickory Dickory
  • FINALIST    Chang Hong - A Day With Dad                              


  • WINNER    Joan Dombrady - The Four (Famous) Little Pigs
  • FINALIST    Kathy Rondeau - Fearless Friend
  • FINALIST    Suzanne Socken - The Whole World is a Story


  • WINNER    VJ Hamilton - Missing Red Herring
  • FINALIST    Joan Dombrady - Gingerhaven


  • WINNER    Lily Quan - The One and Only Rosie Chen
  • FINALIST    Nancy Kay Clark - Adam's Problem
  • FINALIST    Jennifer Irwin - Death by Instagram


  • WINNER    Victoria Jones - Caleb's Crossing
  • FINALIST    Joan Dombrady - InterCHANGE
  • FINALIST    Aaron Rabinowitz - Junior Slump

The 2019 Writing for Children Competition received more than 500 entries.  All the entries were evaluated by first-round readers who selected entries to proceed to second-round readers. The second-round readers selected entries to proceed to the jury, and the juries selected the winners and finalists. In late November, all the writers will receive the evaluation comments for their entries.

The 2019 Competition readers and juries are CANSCAIP Members:   Paulette Bourgeois, Lana Button, Charlene Chua, Kathy Clark, Lena Coakley, Kathryn Ellis, Sarah Ellis, Loretta Garbutt, Celia Godkin, Theo Heras, Michelle Kadarusman, Jessica Scott Kerrin, Miriam Korner, Carol MacKay, Maureen McGowan, Jennifer McGrath, Janet McNaughton, Ishta Mercurio, Anita Mieuttunen, Jennifer Mook-Sang, Mahtab Narsimhan, Colleen Nelson, Deb Patz, Karen J. Rankin, Gillian Richardson, Raquel Rivera, Jocelyn Shipley, Rebecca Upjohn, Vikki Van Sickle, Susan White, Tim Wynne-Jones, Diane Young.

The next Writing for Children Competition opens in March 2020. 

A goal of the Writing for Children Competition is to discover, encourage, and promote not-yet-published writers. The Writers' Union of Canada initiated the Competition in 1996, and CANSCAIP took it on in 2014. CANSCAIP, founded in 1977, is a national membership-based not-for-profit organization offering professional development opportunities for both published and unpublished children's authors and illustrators. 

CANSCAIP office is located within the Centre for Social Innovation, Annex.
720 Bathurst St., Suite 503, Toronto, ON M5S 2R4

Email: office@canscaip.org
Phone: 1-416-515-1559

Copyright Canadian Society of Children's Authors, Illustrators and Performers

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software